We’re the kind of girls that hike mountains then go out for cocktails

Original Date (when this all happened) – sometime in late March’ish…

Note: Sorry it has been SO long. I swore I was going to get back on track posting… and here I go slacking off again. I have nothing to say for myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s been good though. I get in the habit of writing an itinerary, and now that I’ve had some distance from what I’ve done over the past several weeks, I have some more perspective. But beware – now that I’m goign to start posting, there will be an onslaught… to get it updated. haha So I’ll just jump on it!

A while back Cassidi, our friend Adam, and I climbed a bit of Stellenbosch Mountain. It’s literally outside our windows in Concordia. Saying that, it’s about a 20-25 minute walk to get to the mountain. Friends that have hiked the entire mountain (we’re still planning on doing it) said it took about 8 hours. So it’s…. it’s definitely a hike. We started about 1 1/2 hours before sunset, so we never planned to get very far… we were thinking we’d just hike the first trail that even gets you to the base of the mountain. Oh wow. Even THAT is a HIKE. We were worn out. But we ended up getting up to the first ridge. Hiking trails have levels, like rapids in white water rapids. The first part of the hike is a 4 or 5 – and a 5 is the highest. It’s a haaaaaaard hike. Wow. We were definitely super sore. But it was awesome. You’re scrambling up loose rocks and some boulders on the way up… which means on the way down we basically had to slide down, that’s how steep it is. The view is incredible.

Here are some highlights from the climb. The best part, I think, is my beginning the hike picture… and then my picture once we finally got up to the first ridge point.

We have no idea where this cross came from or what it’s there for. It was kind of cool to see, though.

View from the base of the mountain

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!! at the base of the mountain. Ready to take that thing DOWN!

View from the (not so much) top.

“oh my God how am i not dead right now?….. oh wait, I sort of am….”

and then, after all the hiking, we went out for cocktails ๐Ÿ™‚

there was a live “jazz” band playing at Fandango, a restaurant/bar.

The band. Can’t remember their name, but they were awesome. Based in Cape Town. They had this jazz mixed with a bit of rock kind of sound. Everytime the guy in the middle picked up the sax – I was heaven.

I

Tan lines and cocktails in hand…… Just the way Africa should be… ๐Ÿ™‚

Published in: on April 23, 2008 at 11:59 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theycallmeal.wordpress.com/2008/04/23/were-the-kind-of-girls-that-hike-mountains-then-go-out-for-cocktails/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

