victory dance!

I got the internship!! It only pays $8.10 an hour, which is actually less than California minimum wage, BUT it’s a paid internship in the movie industry… so I’m not complaining.

They liked my video, invited me in for an interview… and after sending me the general rejection email, I got another one saying they wanted me!

It’s a Research/Viral Marketing internship working on Battle In Seattle, a film starring Charlize Theron, Michelle Rodriguez, Ray Liotta…. it’s an activist film about the 1999 World Trade Organization protests in Seattle. The suite we’re in is in a building that is literally between the Warner Brothers Studios and the NBC studios… with the Hollywood hills behind it. It’s in Burbank. I’m loving life. It’s a lot of hours a day in front of a computer doing research, but that’s just getting me out walking at night to get some much needed exercise.

Life in Hollywood is going well. I went for a walk tonight down Hollywood Boulevard and Sarah Silverman (realllllly funny comedian who dates Jimmy Kimmel) was standing outside the Jimmy Kimmel Live studios. That was cool. Then I went and saw The Incredible Hulk at the Arclight, and Robin Williams was there with his (I’m assuming?) wife. That was also cool.

This city is incredible. It feels so good to be here… to be jumping into life and just taking a go at everything I’ve really ever dreamt of. My TV Writing course starts not this upcoming weekend but the weekend after. I’m looking forward to delving into that writing and seeing how I do.

Hope everyone’s doing well!

Published in: on June 18, 2008 at 8:09 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theycallmeal.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/victory-dance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love living vicariously through you!!! Be careful…..but most of all, HAVE FUN!!!!

  2. I ran across your blog on a Google Alert (if you don’t know what that is yet, it will soon become your best friend in your new internship) for ‘Battle in Seattle’. I have to say it’s a really good read, and your video submission to get your internship was hilarious! Congrats on getting it! Anyway, I’m not some sort of stalker, but I am a fellow blogger that runs Channing Tatum’s official site ChanningTatumUnwrapped.com. Because of the site, I live and breath the whole viral marketing world and can tell you that it’s a lot of fun. Because Channing has such a large fan base, the marketing companies for the films generally work with me to reach his fans and I’ve been working with the ‘Battle in Seattle’ team for a while now. It’s a really good movie, and they have been a great group of people to work with. Anyway, good luck with you’re internship. I’m sure you’ll learn a lot and have a lot of fun with it!

    – Q


Leave a Reply

