Turns Out… Rejection Letters Are So 2008

I applied to a Random House associate program – they hire recent graduates interested in publishing with a year contract. They encourage their own program members to apply for jobs in the company at the end of the year. I expected it to be quite competitive, I wondered if I could get in, I slaved over crafting the perfect cover letter and resume.

This is the response I received this afternoon:

Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for applying to the 2009 Random House, Inc. Associates Program.

Unfortunately, the program has been suspended for this year. Please feel free to visit our job board at http://www.careers.randomhouse.com for further opportunities that are of interest to you and that suit your background. Again, thank you for your interest in Random House and we wish you every success in the future.

Regards,

Random House Human Resources

Apparently cancellation letters are the new rejection letters.

Intern Noelle applied for this, too and received this email (although if she had been accepted, my email would have been the best rejection letter ever). We took it as a “Welcome to the Real World in 2009, Recent Graduates $60,000 in debt with degrees that they thought promised them enough of a yearly salary to pay off that exhorbitant debt and, perhaps, maybe even provide benefits!”

We spent a solid three minutes laughing.

I think it’s my sign, my permission slip, to run off to Central and South America backpacking for a year.

….but, seriously, couldn’t they have at least told me whether or not I would have been chosen?!

Published in: on April 6, 2009 at 11:53 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theycallmeal.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/turns-out-rejection-letters-are-so-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I received the very same e-mail from Random House this morning. I said, “At least I didn’t get rejected,” and then immediately considered whether or not this was a rejection letter in disguise. 2009 graduates, we’re off to a great start!


Leave a Reply

